3.3. Account maintenance

Every school is responsible for the accounts that are associated with it, no matter whether students and staff are still at school or have already left. If the account is still in your school, your school is looking after it.

In particular at the end of a school year or the beginning of a new one, account maintenance is important. Here are a few tips and guidelines that we’d like you to observe.

  1. Schools are responsible for the people in their institutions, no matter whether these are current, former, or future students or members of staff. If you leave people in your institution although they have left your school, the site administrator team will get in touch with you, if there is a question for their account.
  2. If you plan on removing a person from your institution, please change their email address in their account settings page in the administration or ask them to do so under User menu → Profile → Contact information.

Warning

If the email address is not changed and you remove the account from your institution, the student or teacher will not be able to recover their password if they forget it. They will need to contact the MyPortfolio support team.

If the account stays in your institution, you can reset the password.

  1. Please do not delete accounts at the end of the year or whenever someone leaves your school without checking with the student or teacher first. Only remove them from your institution.

Note

Removing an account from your institution without actually deleting it will allow the student or teacher to continue working on their portfolio if they wish to do so.

When you remove an account from your institution (on their account settings page in the administration by clicking the button “Remove user from this institution”), you only disassociate them from your school, but the content stays intact and the student or teacher can continue with their work.

  • If you delete an account but the student or teacher wanted to continue using their portfolio, there is a cost associated with getting the content back because we will need to retrieve it from a backup server. Let us know as soon as possible, as data is not kept indefinitely.
  • Please read on-screen instructions carefully. An accidental deletion of accounts is not possible. There is a confirmation screen before you delete an account completely.
  1. If you did remove an account before the email address was changed, let the student or teacher know so they can still log in before their school email address is deactivated to change their email address themselves.
  2. If your school is connected through single sign-on to MyPortfolio, students and teachers will be sent an email to the primary email address associated with their account with information on how they can set a password now that their account is not associated with your school any more.